Tata Sky / TATA Sky account charged excess of Rs.8,242

Tata Sky Reviews & Complaints

TATA Sky account charged excess of Rs.8,242

Reported By: Manisha

My TATA Sky subscriber id is 1085847364

I am not satisfied with decision of Tata Sky nodal officer. My complaint is not addressed properly, without giving any logical or justifiable reason for change in my subscription plan and increase of my subscription amount without even informing me or obtaining my confirmation, thus causing loss of Rs.8242 to me.

Tata Sky nodal officer has replied in response to my complaint that Quote “In compliance with the new tariff order your MultiTV charges have marginally increased.” Unquote

However, the “new tariff order” does not allow M/s Tata Sky to change my subscription plan and increase my monthly charges without even informing me forget obtaining my confirmation. It may be seen from my Tata Sky registered email extract (attached here) that there was no intimation from M/s Tata Sky about changes in my subscription plan (Multi TV service) or my account subscription charges.

Further, increase of Rs.1300 per month is not marginal for me. However, if it is marginal for the nodal officer then M/s Tata Sky may bear the same and refund it to me.

Hence I am preferring this complaint before your good selves by providing full details of the complaint again below:

This complaint is because Rs.8,242.28 is excess charged by making arbitrary change to my monthly subscription pack without even informing me or obtaining confirmation. This is first time that I have faced payment issue with M/s Tata Sky since past 8 years that I am availing the service. Before you reach to any conclusion, I request to please read the below complaint carefully along with supporting facts and attachments.

Since 2012 we have been using four Tata Sky set top boxes and subscribed to annual mega pack with multi TV subscription.

On 2nd June 2019 I had called M/s Tata Sky executive on Helpline number with request to subscribe “Premium Sports English HD” Pack for my one set top box and “Multi TV” Pack for three set top boxes. M/s Tata Sky executive told me to pay additional Rs.26,500 in order to avail the annual bonus offer. Hence on 2nd June 2019 I paid Rs.26,500 towards full one year subscription charge for my four set top boxes, in order to avail annual bonus offer (bonus being due on 27th May 2020). However Rs.26,500 paid for one year subscription got over by 31st January 2020 itself. This was because from about 1st August 2019 onwards my subscription was changed to “Premium Sports English HD” Pack on all my four set top boxes without even informing me or obtaining my confirmation. This resulted in increase of my monthly Tata Sky expense by about Rs.1300 per month for 6 months from August 2019 to January 2020).

The calculation of annual subscription amount of Rs.26,500 by M/s Tata Sky executive valid from 2nd June 2019 up to 27th May 2020 was as follows:
Annual subscription amount of Rs.26,500 = (Premium Sports English HD Pack @ Rs.744.60 per month x 12 months x 1 set top box) + (Multi TV subscription @ Rs.399.90 per month x 12 months x 3 set top boxes) + (TATA Sky Binge @ Rs.249 per month x 12 months) = Total Rs.26,319.60 for one year annual subscription (from 2nd Jun2 2019 up to 27th May 2020)

As evidence of the aforesaid, please find attached here all my Tata Sky Monthly Account Statements along with Tata Sky registered email extract.

It may be seen from my Tata Sky registered email extract that there was not even a single intimation from M/s Tata Sky about changes in Multi TV service and my subscription charges. Without intimation or confirmation, my subscription was arbitrarily changed to “Premium Sports English HD” Pack on all my four set top boxes from about 1st August 2019 onwards. This led to increase of my monthly Tata Sky expense by about Rs.1300 per month for 6 months (from August 2019 to January 2020).

Honestly, we don’t watch English TV channels and “Premium Sports English HD” Pack was subscribed on one TV for my guests only. The “Premium Sports English HD” Pack is expensive and M/s Tata Sky should have intimated about changes in Multi TV service before subscription of “Premium Sports English HD” Pack on all my four set top boxes.

If M/s Tata Sky had informed before arbitrarily increasing my subscription charges then I would have subscribed “Premium Sports English HD” Pack on only one set top box and “Hindi Basic” Pack on my three set top boxes from 1st August 2019 onwards. With my this subscription change, my Tata Sky charges should have been Rs.2033.29 per month from 1st August 2019 onwards calculated as follows:

My Tata Sky monthly charges from 1st August 2019 onwards = (Premium Sports English HD Pack: Rs.751.81 per month x 1 set top box) + (Hindi Basic Pack: Rs.344.16 per month x 3 set top boxes) + (TATA Sky Binge: Rs.249.00) = Rs.2,033.29 per month

Accordingly from 1st August 2019 up to 31st January 2020 M/s Tata Sky should have charged Rs.12,199.74 (i.e. Rs.2,033.29 x 6 months) to my account. However actually M/s Tata Sky has charged about Rs.20,442.02 to my account from 1st August 2019 to 31st January 2020 (Tata Sky Monthly Account Statements are attached for reference). This resulted in total excess charge of Rs.8,242.28 to my account due to change in my monthly subscriptions from about 1st August 2019 onwards without even a single information/intimation or confirmation.

It is requested to kindly refund or adjust the aforesaid excess amount of Rs.8,242.28 charged to my account from 1st August 2019 to 31st January 2020. Presently I have temporarily suspended two of my Tata Sky set top boxes and have changed my cable TV subscriber to Jio TV. If M/s Tata Sky could not refund or adjust the aforesaid excess amount charged to my account, then I will have no option but to change my cable TV subscriber for my balance two TVs as well.

I wish to continue with good Tata Sky and sincerely believe in honesty of the company. I sincerely request you to the needful as Rs.8,000 is a big amount for me. Any inconvenience caused is deeply regretted.

With Regards
Manisha S

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us